From the moment when I first heard about the UP Campus in Miag-ao, I have never stopped dreaming about visiting the place. And barely a week ago, 10 full years after my UP Miag-ao dream was conceived, I got to visit the campus and see more of the town than I ever dreamed of seeing.

First on our itinerary was the Miag-ao church, a UNESCO Heritage Site that has managed to withstand the tests of time, including several wars and the various manifestations of nature’s wrath. History, academics, sun, sea, and sky. This is what Miag-ao has shown me. These photos are the testimonies of the awesome day we spent in Miag-ao, short though that day may have been.
DSC_0033
Reaching the heavens through the pealing of bells. This is how I felt when I took this photo of the church’s bell tower. Unfortunately, unlike in the other churches that my family and I visited, ascending the tower is prohibited. We weren’t enlightened with regard to the reason for this prohibition. Nevertheless, seeing the tower from outside was enough to leave us awestruck.

DSC_0023
We visited the church amidst a throng of Sunday worshippers.

DSC_0019
The design of this church is almost identical to the other churches that we visited in Capiz and Iloilo. What never fails to amaze me is the fact that this is the only church with intricate carvings on its facade. Imagine the amount of work involved! And to think that the church was built at a time when modern carving tools were non-existent. Truly amazing.

DSC_0032
The intricate carvings that surround the belfry.

DSC_0025
The brass knocker on the church’s front door.

DSC_0031
According to this plaque, Miag-ao church started construction in 1787. Two hundred plus years ago. If that ain’t history man, then I don’t know what is.

Then we moved on to the nearby UP Campus.

DSC_0087
Of course we had to take the standard group shot at the most famous landmark of the entire UP system.

DSC_0104
May Flowers.

DSC_0098
And this is how I interpret the world-famous oblation statue. Because we all have our own ways of pleading for lost causes.

And no, this post isn’t done yet. Because we got to have fun under the summer sun in a semi-private beach that was under the jurisdiction of the UP campus. Our guide, a researcher for the University, told us that outsiders weren’t allowed to swim within that stretch of sand because, according to past experience, they would leave tons of trash that were detrimental to the health of the sea. UP Miag-ao, after all, is a sea-oriented school.

DSC_0139
THIS BEACH. The perfect way to end a day spent exploring history.. The sand was excruciatingly hot and I had to walk barefoot because I forgot to bring my slippers. But as soon as I hit the water, everything fell into place and I was safe in my world of sand, sea, and sky again.

