Today my husband gave me the best hand-made gift that a full-time mom can ask for. He made an ironing board from an old table that didn’t really serve any purpose aside from holding all the bric-a-bracs that no one really looks for any more.

image

I told my husband how I saw this article online where the author made an ironing board out of plywood. I explained to him how it was done.
So he got one of our old comforters that we haven’t used for 4 years and covered the table w/ it.

image

Then he wrapped another blanket over the comforter.  This blanket hasn’t been used for years now too.

image

Then he nailed the layers of blanket and comforter on the underside of the table.

image

image

I don’t really know what purpose the crown serves. But heck it looks good.
And I forgot to take a photo of the finished product but it looks just like the 2nd photo tho much neater.

And the thing is, we found a purpose for the things that we’ve owned for years but haven’t really used for almost as long as we’ve owned them.
Repurposing the blanket and comforter has given me more storage space too.
And the old table converted to ironing board can still function as a table for placing bric-a-bracs on whenever I’m not using it.

Love it. This is practicality at its best.

