When I got up this morning, I was bemoaning the fact that after a month of working through the night, I finally had the time to join my family in bed at 10pm. Only to be jolted awake by a bad dream at 3 in the morning. Sleep eluded me after that.
So, after an  hour and a half of tossing and turning in bed, I finally decided to get up and get my first cup of coffee for the day.
Now that my mind is free from the fogginess of sleep, I’ve come to appreciate the untimely awakening.
Because I’ve just realized that this is the first time in weeks that I’ve had the leisure to observe the sun’s slow ascent.

It’s a bit cloudy though, so I  couldn’t get a good golden shot. But that’s the good thing about the sun. Even when we don’t see it, we still have the certainty that it’s THERE.
Then I also realized that our small  garden is growing.
The lemon grass that my husband planted has grown taller and a new stalk is coming out.
Those tiny leaves that surround the lemon grass are the tiny saplings growing from the chilli seeds  that I scattered around that plot weeks ago.

image

The brown leaves on the mango sapling have turned into a bright shade of green:

image

I can’t wait for all our plants to mature and bear fruit. Especially the mango tree. That’s the second tree we planted in our front yard as soon as we moved in.

My untimely awakening has made me appreciate the value of a positive mindset. I could have gone on deploring it for the whole day and being cranky because my sleep was cut short. I could make my family suffer for my bad mood.
But I choose not to. I choose to see that there is a good reason for every seemingly negative event that happens.
I choose to believe that this day holds so much promise for me.
That  there is so much more for me to anticipate, not only for today, but for my family’s future.
Each day is truly a blessing.
But only if we choose to see it that way.
Good morning beautiful  people!!!

