She’s so quiet.

“A penny for your thoughts?” he asks.

“Listen. I have something I need to talk to you about.” she answers. “I do understand the terms of this marriage. I am not asking you to love me. I don’t even know if I love you. But I do know that we have to do this, I understand this marriage is a necessity.”

She takes a deep breath before continuing “But I do hope that we can both extend the effort to at least try to make it work. I need you to promise me that you would try. Because right now, I stand before you, giving you this solemn vow: that I promise there would only be you. I promise to be a partner who will stand beside you to face those demons and who will stand behind you to support your efforts. I am not asking you to love. We both know that love is out of the equation.”

He is quiet. The seconds tick by as he stares out into the darkness outside. Then slowly, he stands up and walks out the door.

Tears start falling unbidden. Tomorrow, she is going to marry a man who was chosen for her. Even if it means forsaking the man she loves and who truly loves her.

Minutes go by and she just stands there staring into the vast nothingness outside that tiny window. Her tears have since dried up.

Then suddenly, the door opens. He’s back. He’s breathless. He’s holding something in his hand.

“Phew!” he says as if he hasn’t noticed the tear tracks on her cheeks. “Sorry. I didn’t mean to take so long. I was looking for this.” HeΒ holds his right hand out to her. In it is a tiny heart-shaped locket. It looks old and even has a tiny chip off one side.

She is quiet and doesn’t make a move to take his offering.

to be continued…

(I still have tons of work to do so will try to continue this story tomorrow.Just thought I’d try to write a fiction piece again.The last time I created one was in high school.Need to clear these cobwebs off of my brain if I want to fulfill my dreams. The featured pic ain’t mine, got it from Google) Β πŸ™‚

