I look at you child and I see
the me that I have always longed to be
I see innocence and a heart full of love
I see the me that could have been if only I didn’t give up.

I see the me that still could be
if only I can find my way back
to the place where all that love
is so well-hidden despite the cracks.

I look at you child and I fear
that someday someone might bring you to tears
and show you a world that is cruel and hard
as hard as the rock
that is lodged in a cynic’s heart.

I look at you child and I hope
that maybe my fears are just for naught.
I look at you child and I know
that I bear the burden of seeing you grow
into a being who is lovely and bright
who, even in the darkest hour, can still find the light.

I look at you child
I see you
I know you
I love you.
And I know that all I can do is hope
That seeing, knowing, and loving
is enough.

