photo borrowed from Google
photo borrowed from Google

I don’t really care about all the rhetoric on healthy eating, whole foods, and all that stuff. There is just one truth that I stick to in regard to food: the body has a way of letting you know what you need and which nutrients you’re missing out on. I learned this truth by observing my kids. I’ve seen how they instinctively look for the nutrients that they just missed out on during the last meal.
Sometimes I grow weary of cooking and decide to just buy some greasy take-out food for dinner. The take-out has the desired effect in that it staves off the hunger pangs. But the fullness does feel complete.
I know this because barely 5 minutes after they’re done eating, they’d be in the kitchen again searching every storage box for something to gnaw on. They don’t stop unless I cook up some soup for them that’s filled with natural ingredients, specifically vegetables. And then I finish it off with some fruit. That is the only time that they stop hovering over me asking me if there’s anything to eat and whining about being hungry despite eating a whole plate of grilled chicken.

